top of page

Forearm Wheel Pose / Chakra Bandhasana

Yoga Pose

Forearm Wheel Pose / Chakra Bandhasana

Chakra means a nerve centre, the fy-wheels in the machine, that is the human body. Bandha means a fetter or a bond. The chakras are the regions situated within the spinal column where the nadis cross each other.

There are seven of them in the human body.

(I) Muladhara Chakra (the pelvic plexus);

(2) Svadhisthana Chakra (the hypogastric plexus);

(3) Manipuraka Chakra (the solar plexus);

(4) Anahata Chakra (the cardiac plexus);

(5)Visuddha Chakra (the pharyngeal plexus);

(6) Ajna Chakra (the plexus of command between the two eyebrows); and

(7) Sahasrara Chakra (the thousand petalled lotus, the upper cerebral centre).

The chakras are subtle and not easily cognisable. Though they are here compared to the various plexi, it should not be taken for granted that the plexi alone are the chakras.


1. Perform Dwi Pada Viparita Dandasana.

2. Move both the feet towards the head with an exhalation.

3. Release the fingers, spread the wrists and rest the forearms on the floor, fingers pointing to the feet. Take two breaths.

4. With an exhalation raise the head off the floor and extending the neck towards the legs, bring both the feet nearer to the hands.

s. Then catch the right ankle with the right hand and the left ankle with the left hand and rest the feet on the floor. Take two breaths.

6. Grip the ankles firmly and with an exhalation, press the feet and the elbows to the floor and arch the trunk by stretching the shoulders and the thighs.

7. Stay in the pose from to to Is seconds. Breathing will be fast.

8. Release the grip on the ankles, rest the crown of the head on the floor and interlock the fingers behind the head. Now with an exhalation swing the legs up to Salamba Sirsasana I and then lower them to the floor and relax or do Urdhva Dhanurasana and perform Viparita Chakrasana or stand in Tadasana.


All the chakras are stimulated. The asana helps the adrenal glands to function healthily. The rectum, kidneys, neck and eye muscles are exercised

Source : Light on Yoga by BKS. Iyengar.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page